Weaving with ink

I’ve been continue to work on my calligraphic drawings, building on the ideas around expression through handwriting and gesture that I was exploring last year. I am enjoying working with a range of different inks and papers, looking for what combinations give the quality of line I want. I started with some busy sketchbook work which combined my different key elements – the calligraphic gesture, fluid movements, strong lines and layering – with different types of asemic writing and background colour.

The first sketches had some very interesting textures but were a little busy and overloaded in places. I worked with different types of cartridge paper and watercolour paper and although the watercolour paper gave a nicer colour range (left below), the rough texture of the paper detracts from the precision lines I was aiming for.

I took the key textures I liked and started to pair down and tighten up the drawing, focussing on getting a stronger expression of movement but keeping just a small colour palette for each one.

wp-1489770788272.jpeg

wp-1489770821761.jpeg

I have been continuing to explore this series of gestures over the last week, with different open-ness or opacity to the drawings. I like the vibrancy and the movement which they capture, and this series doesn’t need the specific visible ‘writing’ of my earlier sketches – it is all about the gestures. I have also found both new brands of paper and ink which are giving very pleasing results – working towards a finished series of pieces which I can look to get properly mounted.

So far, this is my favourite finished piece:

 

wp-1489771844458.jpeg

 

 

3 thoughts on “Weaving with ink

  1. stardust000

    I love the new you, the green and blues are looking good. I prefer the less busy ones. It will still look great on my wall, I have the space already allocated for some of them. 😊

    Reply
  2. eileen

    These are wonderful, the pared down ones in particular
    They all merit mounting – a great series worthy of any gallery

    Reply

Leave a Reply

