Crit on work-in-progress show

The work in progress show closed yesterday, leaving the next show on the calendar as our graduating summer show…Arg!

We had a couple of opportunities for feedback before taking down our work, firstly from a group crit during the morning, and then from visitors at the show closing party after hours. Slightly mixed feelings about my feedback. I heard at least three sets of visitors comment on my work saying it was “amazing” and “wow! look, they are maps!”, but the response from the tutor was at best tepid.  We had quite a lively discussion in the class when I introduced my pieces, and I was pleased to see the group arguing amongst themselves about the meaning of my work – just the sort of debate you would hope to achieve.

The crux of their question was to the level of my specific personal experience which is on display in the work. Some thought they related better to the work because it was more universally human (mountains, sea etc), while others felt I myself was less present – an outside observer of the places being constructed. Suggestions such as making my own maps, using photographs or recording paths etc to personalise the materials. [Some of which I have already tried, some of which I have mixed feelings about].

My concern, is that Maiko seems to think my experiments have not broken away enough and I got the distinct impression from what she said that she didn’t seem to be keen on me doing more weaving. I’m hoping to clarify this before the end of term as I’m not very clear as to what her expectations are – how can I just drop my plan so close to the end? to do what else instead?

Being positive, I do see a couple of key points in her comments: certainly on the inclusion of personal experience into the work, and perhaps also on the safety/comfort of the technique. My worry is that I don’t have enough skill to go anywhere else with the method, or not enough creative vision to figure out what possibilities I’m missing. With only 15 weeks to go, how much have time do I really have to keep experimenting?

 

1 thought on “Crit on work-in-progress show

  1. Eileen

    that is very interesting- ( read very aggravating grrrhhh!!!) – I would concentrate on the visitor comments – after all what is the real value of the comments of almost all of the other members of the group??? Most of them are there for visa reasons and your tutor doesn’t seem to be able to tutor!!! How can anyone not see you in your work ? I think you should read back over recent blogs to where you were feeling you were connecting to your project and ready to work to a final expression of all you have achieved during the course – Using strengths and skills you had prior to the course but in new ways – as fine art rather than craft art – is experimental – so don’t understand the reference to “safe ” – unless in her uncommunicative way she recognises how exceptionally talented you are and her lack of ability to give you the input she should have to get you even further – she cant take much credit

    Reply

Leave a comment